Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Share data with other user accounts

Share data with other user accounts

Share data with other user accounts

Share a work package

The work package sharing feature lets you share all data associated with a work package with other users in your organisation. You can find this in the Work package management module.

Previously there was a limitation with the permission matrix whereby if you had access to a particular module, you also had access to all the data objects associated, by default.

Personnel can now have access only to certain data that has been shared with them, even if they have access to that module.

note

For admin users:

  • There must always be at least one admin user. So if you try to revoke your own access without having added another admin you will get an error when saving
  • As an admin, you have access to everything inside the sharing tab. You can add new users, revoke access, change users' admin rights, manage related access, and toggle the data as public or private

There is a Sharing tab within the Work Packages module.

Click Sharing and define if it is private or who you want to share it with.

 

  • Public package: Available to everyone within your company.
  • Private package: Visible only to you and the users you choose to share this data with. Other admins can also share this data.

 

If you choose to make it accessible to specified users with controlled permissions, as the administrator of the work package, you will set the sharing permissions and a sharing section on all objects to control sharing of objects outside of work packages to either of the following:

  • Admin rights: Control who the work package is shared with and their permissions
    • Use the Grant access to users dropdown to grant admin privileges (i.e., yourself and any additional required admins), toggle the Admin permissions radio button on, and click Save changes.
  • Access only: Read data within the work package
    • Use the Grant access to users dropdown to select the desired user and click Save changes.

 

note
  • When a package or object has been shared with a user, said user will get that data in all modules where the user has access according to the permission matrix.
  • All users granted at least Access status, will see the data of the work package regardless of the permission matrix, but will only get access to modules as specified on the permission matrix.

Object-level sharing within a work package

Each individual object within a work package has a Sharing tab. The object's admin (the creator is assigned admin by default) can share the object with specific users by searching their name or email address.

Each activity, work order, and adverse event that is created will inherit the same sharing settings of the associated work package. If no work package is associated, the new item will inherit the work order sharing settings. If no sharing settings are specified, each item will be public by default.

note

The following items inherit the same sharing settings as the work package, ensuring no discrepancies in what is shared: work orders, activities, adverse events, components, and sub-assemblies. Assets, equipment, personnel, and teams are always public and do not follow this inheritance behaviour.

  • If adverse events, components, or sub assemblies are assigned to one or more work packages, they will be private if all work packages are private; otherwise, they will be public.

    • Sharing will be updated immediately after you save changes to the work package option.
    • The person will be notified by a pop-up message saying that sharing settings have either changed to public or private, depending on the rule above.
    • The pop-up message will also have an undo option, which will revert changes applied after selecting a work package.
  • When creating a new object and turning on sharing, you will be listed automatically in the list as an admin.

  • When creating or updating an activity with a work order, it will follow the first rule, but if the work order does not have a work package, the activity will adopt the sharing levels of the work order.

  • When creating or updating other objects that are shareable after selecting private work package and manually turning on sharing on this object, all users are listed from that private work package immediately.

  • There must always be at least one admin. If you try to revoke your own access without having added another admin, you will receive an error on save.

  • As an admin, you have access to everything inside the sharing tab. You can add new users, revoke access, change users' admin rights, manage related access, and toggle the data as public or private.

  • All changes on the tab will trigger the unsaved changes label at the bottom of the modal (right above the save button).

  • These rules are also followed in places where it’s not shown a modal window.

If you do not have certain objects shared with other users, they will not see that object anywhere in the system. The user will see e.g., transport on an activity even if the transport is not shared with the user, but will not see the transport under the transport menu.

An example of an individual object within a work package can be found following this hierarchy:

Work Packages > Select a work package > Select Assets > Click Edit asset > Click the Sharing tab

 

Follow the same steps for setting sharing permissions described in the Share a work pacakge section.

 

Here is a list of all the specific objects updated for sharing:

  • Work package
  • Assets
  • Work orders
  • Activities
  • Adverse events
  • Personnel
  • Teams
  • Logistics
  • Components
  • Subassemblies
  • Sites

Permission Dependencies

Highest level of cascading will exist on the Site level

  • if a site is shared, all assets, sub assemblies and components associated with that site will be shared if selected
  • if an asset is shared, all sub assemblies and components associated with that asset will automatically be shared if selected
  • if a sub assembly is shared all components associated with that sub assembly will be shared if selected

Vessel sharing:

  • Users who do not have a vessel shared with them will still see the vessel availability on the relevant areas so that they can be aware that it is in use

Personnel and team sharing:

  • Users that do not have personnel shared with them will still need to see said personnel availability so that they can plan accordingly

Regardless of whether certain items are shared with a user, all calculations are visible on the Daily Progress Report (DPR):

  • for example, user does not have personnel shared with them but they will still see them on the DPR if it is relevant